Illustration: Adobe Max

Summary

The three conferences that I watched were extremely informative. I often find that I have a difficulty creating pieces for my own personal work, and listening to how passionate these three artists are kinda invigorated me. They all had different kinds of passions that drove their art, whether it was to create for themselves or others.

I found it particularly profound when Andrea Pippins discussed needing to know about who you are within to truly create something of your own. This was very similar to Aurelía Durand about having a cause to create for. I found that these two women really knew who and what they are and I want to have a passion like that. Andrea also mentioned a lot about journaling to self-reflect and I think I want to do that as well.

All of these illustrators had beautiful work but I would have to say that Charlie Davis’s work was my favorite. Not only does he try to grasp the memory of a place, he also attempts to create the best overall feeling of it. Though that is not necessarily the intent of my own work, I do really appreciate that in others’ work. I consider what feeling I want my audience to feel when they view my art.

Overall, these conferences almost gave me an existential crisis but a well needed one. I need to challenge myself more in what I create but I never really knew how to do so. I feel like after seeing and listening to some experienced illustrators, I have a new sense of invigoration inside of me.

Screenshots

Andrea Pippins: Author and Illustrator
Aurelía Durand: Celebrating Diversity with Bold Colours
Creative Luminary: Illustrator Charlie Davis

Leave a comment